Environmental Science

Our member universities are home to many leading researchers in the vitally important fields of the environment, climate change, water and energy.

North Australian Centre for Oil and Gas
Charles Darwin University

The North Australian Centre for Oil and Gas (NACOG) is a hub located at Charles Darwin University for training and education programs (both on campus and externally through distance learning) together with research capabilities targeted at the specific needs of oil and gas operations and developments in the region.

Australian Water Recycling Centre for Excellence and Smart Water Research Centre
Griffith University

Developing solutions to secure water supply through industry research projects across the water recycling spectrum. The Smart Water Research Centre builds, shares and applies new knowledge to improve water cycle management.

National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility (NCCARF)
Griffith University, James Cook University, Murdoch University

The National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility (NCCARF) works to support decision makers throughout Australia as they prepare for and manage the risks of climate change and sea-level rise. Based at Griffith University, NCCARF has a national focus across Australia to build resilience to climate change in government, NGOs and the private sector.

ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
James Cook University

The ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies undertakes world-best integrated research for sustainable use and management of coral reefs. It is funded under the Australian Research Council (ARC) Centres of Excellence program and headquartered at James Cook University in Townsville.

Centre for Freshwater Ecosystems
La Trobe University

The Centre for Freshwater Ecosystems (CFE) supports decision-making regarding maintenance and restoration of the long-term health of rivers, catchments, floodplains and wetlands and is founded on a long history of research under the auspices of the Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre.

National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training
Flinders University, James Cook University, La Trobe University

The NCGRT  is based at Flinders University with 12 partner universities and a growing list of more than 19 government and industry partners. Its role is to advance understanding of Australia’s groundwater resources, and to train the next generation of groundwater researchers.