

Media release

28 January 2021

Carolyn Evans appointed new chair of IRU group

Griffith University Vice-Chancellor Professor Carolyn Evans has become the new chair of the Innovative Research Universities (IRU) group.

Professor Evans takes over the position from Murdoch University Vice-Chancellor Professor Eeva Leinonen, who was IRU chair through 2019 and 2020.

The IRU Chair is the primary university representative of the group, overseeing the work of the IRU secretariat team and acting as a 'public face' of the group, including attending meetings with ministers.

The role of chair rotates among its member Vice-Chancellors

Commenting on her new role, Professor Evans said:

"I'm very pleased to be taking over as IRU chair and I thank Professor Leinonen for her leadership throughout the past two years."

"The IRU group will be at the forefront of discussions and debate about the future of the university sector, including how we can support Australia's recovery from the coronavirus pandemic.

"With a new education minister recently appointed, I will be working with other IRU vice-chancellors to ensure the Government recognises the valuable role our members play in their communities, in providing teaching to under-served communities and undertaking research with real-world impact.

"My priority for the role will be working with government around support for the sector during this particularly challenging time."

IRU contacts

William Summers, IRU Marketing and Media Advisor M: 0434 275 792

Conor King, IRU Executive Director M: 0434 601 691

About the IRU

The IRU is a network of seven comprehensive universities committed to inclusive excellence in teaching and research in Australia. Its members are Charles Darwin University, Flinders University, Griffith University, James Cook University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University and Western Sydney University.

iru.edu.au