

Media Statement

26 June 2024

IRU welcomes appointment of Australian Research Council Board

The Innovative Research Universities (IRU) welcomes the appointment by Minister Jason Clare of a new independent Board for the Australian Research Council (ARC) and congratulates Chair Professor Peter Shergold AC, Deputy Chair Professor Susan Dodds FAHA, and other members.

This is an important change that will strengthen the governance of the ARC and improve the quality and integrity of Australian research.

The IRU thanks the government for responding in full to the ten recommendations from the independent review of the ARC, led by Professor Margaret Sheil AO.

The ARC has a vital and unique role in Australia's innovation system, as the only agency supporting basic and applied research across all fields. By updating the mission of the agency in the ARC Act, setting out clear roles and responsibilities for the new Board and CEO, and limiting Ministerial veto of research projects, Australians can have confidence in the excellence and integrity of university research.

The IRU is also pleased to see the continued focus on the importance of strengthening Indigenous-led research in the arrangements for the new Board and its committees.

ARC-funded research delivers significant economic, social, cultural and environmental benefits for Australia. We look forward to working closely with the members of the new ARC Board to maximise the impact of university research for communities across the country.

About the IRU

The IRU is a network of seven comprehensive universities across Australia committed to inclusive education and innovative research that advances our communities. Its members are Flinders University, Griffith University, James Cook University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University, University of Canberra, and Western Sydney University.

IRU contact

Bethany Keats, Marketing and Media Advisor

M 0481 092 635 E bethany.keats@iru.edu.au

iru.edu.au