

Media Statement

1 July 2025

IRU welcomes critical higher education reforms that come into effect today

The Innovative Research Universities (IRU) welcomes today's introduction of Commonwealth Prac Payment scheme for nursing, midwifery, teaching and social work students, and the commencement of the new interim Australian Tertiary Education Commission (ATEC).

The IRU has long advocated for a fairer and more balanced higher education system that better supports student success and ensures that all Australians, no matter their background, have the opportunity to obtain the skills that they will need for the jobs and society of the future.

IRU Executive Director Paul Harris said these are significant higher education reforms that will help to support students immediately with cost-of-living pressures, while also underpinning longer-term planning and sustainable growth across the system.

"We congratulate Education Minister Jason Clare and the ATEC Commissioners on these important milestones, and we look forward to working constructively with the Commission on the future of our tertiary education system," he said.

"The IRU strongly supports the goals of the Universities Accord for increased post-secondary qualifications, more focus on students from under-represented backgrounds and a more joined-up tertiary system.

"We will work with the ATEC to maintain the momentum of reform, to ensure that critical issues such as the cost of degrees and the Job-Ready Graduates (JRG) policy are addressed as soon as possible, for a more equitable higher education system."

--END--

About the IRU

The IRU is a network of seven comprehensive universities across Australia committed to inclusive education and research impact that advance our communities. Its members are Flinders University, Griffith University, James Cook University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University, University of Canberra, and Western Sydney University.

IRU contact

Bethany Keats, Marketing and Media Advisor

M 0481 092 635 E bethany.keats@iru.edu.au

iru.edu.au