December 17, 2014

IRU Membership for 2015

The Innovative Research Universities Network (IRU) and The University of Newcastle (UON) have agreed that UON will cease its membership of IRU on 31 December 2014.

IRU membership in 2015 will be Charles Darwin University, Flinders University, Griffith University, James Cook University, La Trobe University and Murdoch University. Professor John Dewar, Vice- Chancellor of La Trobe University will continue as IRU Chair.

Professor Dewar, Chair of the IRU, said the University of Newcastle had made a significant contribution to the IRU network.

“IRU members wish Newcastle well in the future as it pursues its individual strategic agenda to drive world-class innovation in regional Australia. On behalf of the IRU, I thank staff across the University of Newcastle for their engagement with the IRU.

“The IRU will continue to advocate for the needs of universities providing a comprehensive mix of research and education where it is needed: outer metropolitan areas and major regional cities” Professor Dewar said.

“Within challenging times for the higher education sector it is important for UON – a research- intensive regional university – to differentiate and to focus on its core mission, equity and excellence in regional Australia,” said UON Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Caroline McMillen.

“As UON prepares to launch its new decadal strategic plan in 2015, there is a natural opportunity to review and refresh all aspects of the University’s international and national partnerships and profile.

“We have very much enjoyed being part of the IRU group which represents a key group of Australian Universities and we wish our colleagues in the IRU network every continued success,” Professor McMillen said.